Please Join Me In Supporting The Winnemem Wintu

Hi Friends,

 

So as promised, this is the first of a monthly posting and donation for a different group each month.

My first donation is going to the Winnemum Wintu.  They are a Native American tribe who were delisted by the federal government in order for the Shasta Dam to be built, flooding their ancestral land.  Because they were delisted, they have had to fight incredibly hard to have their traditional ceremonies and way of life be acknowledged, respected, and protected.  On top of that, delisting means that they do not have access to federal funds set aside for Native People, so not only do they have to fight to stop the further destruction of their traditional ways and livelihood, they do not have access to the funds that are supposed to be about righting some of the wrongs of the past.

i have worked over the years to support these incredible people in various ways.  Please join me in supporting the Winnemem Wintu this month.  And remember if you do choose to support, please post to my blog and let me know–ANY amount is awesome!!!

http://www.winnememwintu.us/how-you-can-help-2/

 

Thanks and Love,

 

julia

Published in: on January 26, 2013 at 3:25 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://juliabutterflyhill.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/please-join-me-in-supporting-the-winnemem-wintu/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “the legacy of Luna”

    I’ve never guessed what you meant with that.. till now
    A legacy means that someone has some belongings to dispose
    Can also be a kind of wisdom, something that can be valued as a heritage
    Well, now i understood what you meant
    Because I am realising what it is like to have something to share inside
    A person has “something” which can be shared, something which can be called on by someone else, if necessary or when needed
    Donation for me does not mean “to buy” someone or something – like happiness or pleasure
    Simply, when I CAN do something to give a hand, I simply give a hand
    It is not a barter or a contract, it is a way of manifesting myself
    The outcome ends up with the act
    Furthermore, when I donate, I never know what kind of “end” that money does.. what kind of use is done with that money
    But usually I don’t care because I do something with an “attitude”, not with a purpose
    The attitude is a will to comfort
    By the way, frankly, you are completely free to post what you want on your weblog
    In the past, I was shocked by some incomprehensible reactions of yours but now that concern of mine is dead
    You don’t need to explain anything, the reflections that I don’t like don’t annoy me anymore
    The question to myself, today, while writing, is : if I needed a hand, would I like to be helped by someone or, else, would I like to be rejected and abandoned ?
    If I can do something to give a hand, if I have some money and I can share something to help, what kind of attitude should I foster ?
    The answer is that I don’t want to abandon someone who is in a tight spot
    Enemy or friend, I don’t want to leave “in difficulty”..
    You have done really much for what you believe.. your choices can be sharable or not but the fact that a person is ready to die for what he/she believes..
    Cannot be ignored or overlooked
    So do accept my donation on your “main” website.. it is not much but I can assure you one thing : it is not a trojan horse

  2. Grazie Mille Marcello!

  3. Thank you for sharing this with us. I did not know, but now that I do I will do what I can. All love…

  4. Thank you for being a Free Spirit and not a Lost Soul. You give hope to many and are a true inspiration to those around you. I wish that there were more people like you. Peace and Love, sweet friend.

  5. Made a donation. And here’s another wonderful place to donate money or items > http://www.changingwinds.org/ < Changing Winds Advocacy Center in South Dakota – "MISSION STATEMENT -Through education and public service we seek to support the well being of Native American children and to raise public awareness of the stereotyping, discrimination, racism and other unique situations facing all Native Americans." And i just interviewed the co-founder about her work there and as a journalist, and working with children on Lakota reservations, some of the poorest places in the world. The interview will be posted by Wednesday 1/30 on my website and the show is called "Between the Lines". Wonderful idea, Julia, to not only spread the material wealth but also to network the names of places where money and much needed items get directly to the people who need them.

  6. Awesome! Thanks Mankh!!

  7. Wow, this piece of writing is nice, my younger sister is analyzing such things,
    thus I am going to inform her.


Leave a Reply

