The Conference That Touches and Moves Me

Hello Again.  I have been meaning to write about my North Carolina Governor’s Conference for Women experience for a while now.  But I was hindered by not being really clear on how to talk about the event in a way that would have you get even a taste of how great the event was for me.  I realized that a big part of the reason why is because of the feeling I experienced there and felt for days afterward—and feel even now when I think about the experience—is hard to capture in words.

 

Part of the feeling was a result of the wonderfully diverse voices that were represented in the conference—for example, I was on a panel with a well-known actress and a brilliant Native American lawyer.  And as a result of the diversity of voices, there was also a diversity of women attending the conference as well.

 

And part of it was the amazing feeling of being in a room with approximately 1,5000 women—all celebrating each other and celebrating the role of women in the world.  More than once, I was moved to tears when sitting in the main room with all those women.  It really didn’t even matter was being said—just the energy moved me to tears.  As I sit here at a sidewalk café writing this, tears are flowing again feeling it all over again.

 

Because of being raised with a preacher for a father, I have spent most of my life undoing the damage I experienced by that patriarchal tradition being forced on me growing up.  I think I have spent most of my life longing to be around empowering examples of women—the kind who represented to me who I longed to be.  Instead, I mostly got a lot of examples of what and who I did not want to be.

 

My first memories of meeting women who represented to me a window of inspiring possibility for me was when Bonnie Raitt and Joan Baez visited me in Luna.  There were two incredibly beautiful, talented, and powerful women who had blazed their own trail and done it their way.  After coming down from Luna, I have been very blessed to meet even more incredibly amazing women, including Alice Walker, Terry Tempest Williams, and a long, long list of lesser-known, yet equally amazing and fabulous women.  I take each moment (even if it is only the briefest of exchanges) with these women in deeply and store it like a treasure in my heart.

 

And to be in a room with 1,500 women celebrating their womanhood, celebrating their power, celebrating their growing edges, celebrating one another—the energy was electric.

 

There were also elder women elected into the North Carolina’s Women Hall of Fame.  Their stories, their work, their humor, their grit touched me to my core.  I was and still am so present to the power of the legacy of their lives.  Again, I am moved to tears.

 

Many know I am moved easily to tears.  But what is it about this event that touched me so deeply then and still does?  I feel it has something to do with the fact that being amidst that energy spoke to a very deep longing in my soul.  Although I personally knew no one there, I had a feeling of home.

 

I long for a world where every girl and woman is celebrated, respected, honored, and supported for being exactly who she is and who she isn’t.  I long for a world where gatherings like this happen all over the globe, teaching, sharing, and supporting one another in being the best selves we can possibly be.   I long for a world where no girl ever grows up feeling “less than” like I did because for some reason God can only be a man and it his son who saved us and it was an uppity woman who tempted the man into sin and thus the downfall of all humanity.  I long for a world where girls who speak their mind (even if not always done with grace) are not beaten and have their mouths soaked in soap because they dare to have an opinion and speak it—even when it goes against the accepted cultural norms.   I long for a world where all men and all women are treated equally.  Where no woman is ever stoned or has acid thrown on her or is married or sold as a sex slave to an older man while still a child.  I long for a world where all men see and revere women as manifestations of the Divine Feminine Goddess and see that as equally vital and important as the Divine Masculine God.  I long for a world where girls of any age can sit in trees if they want to, but they don’t have to just in order to protect them, because in healing and restoring the balance between the masculine and the feminine, we also will have healed and restored our relationship with the Earth.

 

I know and understand that that won’t be achieved in my lifetime, if ever.  But my heart has longed for this as long as I can remember.  It feels to me like I was born with this longing.  My life has become about being in service to those whose voices (not just human) I feel are being ignored, shut down, violated, and destroyed.  It is out of the deep grief of my past that I have found something worth being here for—to be in service—to give voice to my longing, and to hopefully give voice to others who share that same deep longing, that maybe, just maybe, one day—all life, in all of its forms will be revered, respected, and protected.

 

I feel it is this that briefly and inadequately speaks to why I was so moved by the North Carolina’s Women Conference.

 

May all women everywhere know deep in their hearts and souls how amazing, wonderful, and absolutely Divine they are and begin to act like it.  And may all men everywhere know this is as well.  For in honoring the Divine Feminine, the Divine Masculine of their own beings are automatically uplifted as well.

 

Here is to the Divine Feminine in us all.

 

Love,

 

julia

Published in: on December 7, 2010 at 9:35 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://juliabutterflyhill.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/the-conference-that-touches-and-moves-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Salud, indeed, to the Divine Feminine in us all! Gracias por compartirlo, mi amiga. You moved me to tears.

  2. Yes. Thank you for the reminder.

  3. =)thx for sharing this once again I started to feel the mood of an event through your words. also been harvesting the old blogs slowly and am simple thankful that u take the time to share so much. SA audiotape was an unexpected treat too. happy thoughts

  4. Thank you, Julia.

    Your closing comments on the Devine Feminine and the Devine Masculine cause me to reminisce the studying I did in the 1970s under the leadership of Harry and Emilia Rathbun and their many friends.

    I recommend a book written about them and the Creative Initiative movement that is available in print and online http://j.mp/SavingTheEarth which explains more about the hopes you expressed today, and a whole lot more! Chapter 5 specifically addresses the balance and synergies of masculine and feminine.

    Please, everybody, read http://j.mp/SavingTheEarth

    For the earth
    For humanity

    Doug

  5. After reading your post yesterday, this appeared online this morning:

    http://news.yahoo.com/video/world-15749633/23357884

    As I watch this, I have such mixed emotions: part of me happy IF it’s really true that progress is being made, yet part of me sad that, somewhere in the world, society is still in such a condition where such timid venturing out equates to “progress”. Obviously, we have a long way to go.

    You don’t have to post this if you don’t want. Just sharing. Thank you for your Spirit.

  6. Oh Julia! I don’t even know how to write to you the feeling you engendered within me. We have a women’s circle weekly at the ecovillage and I feel inspired to bring this post to them. I have hopes of co-creating some sort of gathering on Vancouver Island that might maybe a big circle with some Joanna Macy work, just to create the feeling of power, unity and love between women in community…

    Thank you.

  7. Hi Julia, have you read the book, THE DANCE OF THE DISSIDENT DAUGHTER, A Journey From Traditional Christianity to the Divine Feminine by Sue Monk Kidd?

    I read it on the title alone, and was amazed how well she described the frustration and internal conflict that had been going on in me for most of my life.

  8. Hi Lori,

    i have not read it, but i will look into it!

    Thanks!

    julia

  9. In spite of the anti-woman bias in contemporary culture, Jesus established the full equality of women. This gave them a fundamental new status that implied their inclusion in the future ministry.

    1. Reading the Gospels reveals an astonishing departure from cultural bias in Jesus ministry.
    Jesus showed a revolutionary openness to women.

    2. More importantly, in contrast to the secondary role ascribed to women in the Old Testament covenant (see lesson 3), Jesus made women absolutely equal members of his new covenant. Jesus abolished the Old Testament realities on which worship in the Temple was based.

    Through baptism he established a radically new priesthood in which women have an equal part.

    Readings
    Mary Grey, ‘Reclaiming women’s part in redeeming’ from Redeeming the Dream. Feminism, Redemption and Christian Tradition, London 1989, pp. 126 – 152.

    ‘It Won’t Wash With Women’, by Mary McAleese in The Tablet, March 15th., 1997.

    Victoria Brady, ‘The God of Small Things’ God, Women and the Question of Power, BASIC, 2000, pp. 20 – 27.

  10. With regards to what Bill mentions about Afghanistan, the clearest, bravest voice i have heard and read is that of Malalai Joya. She’s the author of the book A Woman Among Warlords.

  11. Hi Kat,

    This still does not address the fact that the religion is based on “the father, son, and holy ghost.” Nor does it address the fact that there are almost no woman’s voices of authority in the Bible in comparison to the numbers of men’s voices. Nor does it address the fact that this tradition, based on its history, is highly patriarchal. Nor does it address the fact that the Christian/Catholic and Islamic and even much of the Judaic traditions have done an immense amount of violence and damage, doing everything they could to wipe out all traces of the Divine Feminine and Goddess beliefs, stories, rituals, etc…

    Basically, the “enlightened” Christian belief you share here basically says a woman can preach even though what she is preaching is a male dominated, patriarchal, highly oppressive belief system that has systematically wiped out as much as they can of every other form of belief and ritual and practice all over the world, including and especially those that honor the Goddess, Divine Feminine, and the Earth.

  12. Speaking of what touches and moves:
    “We Are All Divine Creators – message from Kiesha Crowther “Little Grandmother””

  13. Julia, tienes el poder de la palabra y la acción porque te lleva la fuerza del amor que llevas dentro 🙂 Gracias por compartir y por moverme a las lágrimas una vez más. Abrazos, Maria-Conchita
    my webside means alltheworld, en español “todoelmundo”. Nu quiere decir en suco ahora. (vivo en Suecia)

  14. For almost the first 30 years of my life, I thought I was the only one who felt excluded by the Christian teachings and their representation (or lack of) of women. Over the last decade I have felt validated as I have discovered people, like you, who have grown up with those same longings and have found their way to the Divine Feminine. Yet, for all the peace that I have found in validation, this awareness has also led me to see all the atrocities that are committed against women every second around the world, and with that comes tremendous sorrow. I hope that I am able to hold these opposites in balance, between complacency and despair, and make a positive difference in my lifetime. Thank you for your continued inspiration.

  15. Hi Julia,

    I was interested in your comments about your upbringing. I too had strict parenting, and in the past I have blamed my parents for many difficulties I have. Recently I have read and listened to the works of Eckhart Tolle. You probably have already had him recommended to you because you have so many friends into spirituality and healing. I find his ideas of living in the now, and not having worry over the past and future to be very beneficial, just as I have found your books priceless. Also his concepts of the pain body very useful.

    Now, I get along much better with my parents, and I am glad that that has happened while they are both still here.

    As mad as you might get over how you were brought up, I think your parents did the best they could. After all, you turned out pretty great!

    Best wishes in this Yule season!

    Your friend always,
    Mark N.

  16. Hi Julia,
    I have been reding about you in a book called Young Heros: Saving the Ancient Redwoods. Would you tell me more about Luna? I am only 13 but I already want to join tree sitting.

    Thank you a lot,
    Nathaniel

  17. Hi Nathaniel,

    Thanks for writing and thanks for your care for the forests!

    For more information on Luna, you can check out http://www.circleoflife.org and also check out The Legacy of Luna (a book I wrote on 100% recycled paper of course. : )

    Love,
    Julia

  18. Hi again =)

    I will be sure to check them out. I am going to go to the library right now.

    From,
    Nathaniel


Leave a Reply

