“Almost” 2009, Ringing in 2010

It’s a new year. 2009 has passed. It is now early, wee hours of 2010. I rang in the New Year with a walk on the beach with a friend, many texts to and from friends and framily, laughter, fireworks, a potent full, blue moon, and rain (very rare for this part of the Island.)

For me, 2009 feels mostly like the year of “almost.” Almost manifested a home. Almost manifested a partner (although to be honest, I only very recently realized I wanted one–that is a very new experience for me.) Almost manifested clarity around how and what to do with my life now. Almost got a president we could have been proud of. Almost got an agreement around climate change that could have redirected our human family from our self-made destruction. It is very hard for me to be in “almost” for this long.

I have had many wonderful experiences this last year, and I am very grateful for each and every one of them. And at the same time, as I look back, the feeling I am left with about 2009 is… almost. It is the year that passed with almost nothing more than a sigh.

And, it is also, the year that ended with beautiful relationships and partnerships all around me (even as I write this, a couple in the condo above me are abviously fully enjoying the gifts of physical connection– also known as sex.)

I met a whole “pod” (the name given to ‘family’ here) on this trip to Maui. And almost all in the pod are beautiful, amazing examples of incredible relationships made possible through intentionality, love, purposefull-ness, and that spark that seems to be magic.

I recognize and acknowledge that I am both hopeless romantic and hopeless cynic. I dance between believing in magic and believing in nothing other than our collective stupidity. I am the dance of duality, and it feels like I could possibly be on the cusp of something more than that… something new… well, almost.

May 2010 be the year of moving beyond almost into the realm of actuality and groundedness. May this grounded reality also have tons of magic. I know it is asking for a lot… but what do I have to lose?

Happy New Year!

love,

julia b

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 12:46 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://juliabutterflyhill.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/almost-2009-ringing-in-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “freedom’s just another word for nothin’ left to lose…”
    happy new year!

  2. =) another begining we are almost happy with what we have and want a little change so let’s change. Sadly I forget the song but “let me start with the person(sic) in the mirror” a happy new years all maybe we can see some peace and recycling this year…..

  3. Aloha,
    Are you speaking at all while you’re on Maui?
    If so… where/when?
    Hanging out in Paia, and I’ve always been fascinated by your work/passion.
    Thanks for sharing your journey and the blue moon.
    Mark

  4. Aloha Mark,
    i am not scheduled to be speaking while here on Maui. Thanks for your kind words and for the work you do to highlight our beautiful planetary home.

    love,
    jb

  5. this is from Heather in NY, a fantastic woman who is starting the What’s Your Tree program in NYC!

    2010 is the year of the metal fire tiger
    this is the most yang year imaginable
    the year of manifestation
    it is when the heart’s yes stands on top of the building and says, “IT WILL BE SO”

    How perfect for all of us!
    xo

  6. In response to Alissa/Heather: More trees in NY, wonderful! Also, 2010 certainly has Yang energy, yet as far as i’ve researched, the year is “male metal tiger” because Asian systems typically refer to 5-elements: wood, fire, earth, metal, water, and so each year the element changes. Plus, male/female alternates. If there’s another category being referred to, i’d be interested to know of it.

  7. high Butterfly! nice to see you are alive and well and still on the mission. we exchanged a couple of letters back when you were in Luna. me and my little family are headed back to Kali – i took them to the Redwoods in March and we’ve been planning our trip back there ever since. 2010 is going to be amazing – the year we finally see the first REAL steps toward Eden. we face so many serious issues and times are troubling, but have no fear! i was relieved to see you are NOT an Obamatron! oh man what a grand deception. i lost so many friends over that mess…tried to warn people. i feel bad for the man really – the most disempowered and controlled person on the planet. CHANGE will not come via the old paradigm (politics), but it IS coming and it is WE.

    thanks again for all the love & light you shined on us back in the last millennium. infinite love & blissful blessings to you and for your new year. (here’s one of my blogs http://www.california2010.blogspot.com)–DesertWolf

  8. “I am the dance of duality”. “Almost manifested…”

    Love that. For me, I’ve always described it as like being a ghost. Living in the interstitial spaces between the walls, but never really materializing in any one room. Wishing I could solidify into something, but usually I just “haunt” this room or that one for short periods, and then move on… But, a friendly Ghost, I think; hopefully. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Best wishes for 2010. Health, happiness, and peace.

  10. Hello,

    my name is Sadie and i am a 16 year old living in Washington state. I just wanted to tell you how much you have inspired me to make a conscious change in my everyday life. i have read your book about 10 times and i even wrote a speech about you and Luna and how much you inspire me and how protecting the environment is something very close to my heart. you had so much courage to stand up for what you believe in and i think it’s amazing. next year my mother sister and i are going to drive down to California to see the redwoods =]. well thanks for continuing to be such a role model to me and everyone else.

    peace and love
    Sadie July

    p.s
    Meeting you and visiting Luna are at the top of my list of 10 things to do in my life.

  11. You move forward. Let those of us who have been touched by you move forward. We’ll go and do our life’s work until the sun burns itself out and we’re all a distant memory. Meanwhile, we’ll revel in the beauty of every moment that is our life. Happy New Year.

  12. Best wishes for the new year!

  13. hello,

    well, i just wanted to say how much i look up to you. I’m 16 and living in Washington state. I first read your book when i was about 14 and since then i have been so inspired to visit the redwoods (my mom, sister and i are going to see them next year.) you were so incredibly brave to sit in Luna for over two years, it’s wonderful that you had the strength and courage to stand up for what you believe in. you have made me much more aware of how careful and grateful we need to be about the environment. you are one of my greatest heroes! i even wrote a speech about you and luna… well, i really just wanted to say thank you.. for showing me that one person can make a difference

    peace and love
    Sadie july

    P.S
    visting Luna and meeting you are two of the top things on my list of what i want to do in my life. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. oh and i forgot to add, are you by any chance coming to Washington to speak anytime soon? =]

    peace and love
    Sadie July

  15. Not planning on coming to Washington in the near future.

  16. Hey Sadie July!

    Thanks for your kind and supportive words! i feel really blessed that my living my life to the best of my ability in iterity is isnpiring and motivating you to d the same! We need one another to remind us of our commitments and our passion! So, thank YOU!

    julia b

  17. Gracias, Julia, I feel so happy that you put my comment on your notes, I share the same that you about not to bring more bebies to this planet, and take care of the ones are already here, that is very important……I am not good writing in english, so forgive me if I make some misstakes, also my translator is dead :(.

    I am goingo for a trip to Ecuador next week to meet my family, and I am planing to continue to protect the fores and to educate the people over there, and sopport the activists; I know about the problems you went trough few years ago in Ecuador, and trust me I was so ungry of them, that president was an ignorant, but it doesn’t matter, in your name and the ones that were with you at that time, I will continue the efforts and organize the people to protect our Pachamama, Mather Earth.

    Send you love….peace

    Gustavo

  18. That’s true. To be in between reality & magic is a strange place but the perspective is beautiful. Obscurely romantic. In an astute kind of way haha.

    Hope you have a great year ahead & keep on doing what you believe in.

    2010… there’s truly something in the air.

    Take Care


Leave a Reply

