Celebrating Love

On Thursday, May 15, the California Supreme Court decided to overturn the ban on Gay Marriage. I am so happy with this latest ruling for all the loving couples who want to have equal and fair treatment under the law.

Personally, I believe that marriage is separate from religious or spiritual ceremony. Marriage as it currently operates is a contract recognized (or NOT as the case may be) by the government that affords certain rights, privileges, and responsibilities to couples. I feel that we must separate the legal contract from the religious and spiritual agreement. According to the United States Constitution, ALL citizens are afforded equal treatment under the law. This is a cornerstone of a true Democracy.

On the religious and spiritual level, every group has the right to honor and acknowledge what feels most sacred to them. My spiritual practice guides me to honor couples who are committed to living together in love and the commitment to supporting and upholding the best in one another. In my close circle of friends, family, and loved ones, most of the healthiest and longest relationships I have seen are actually the ones between my gay friends and chosen family.

They are also the ones who are adopting more children than the heterosexual couples that I know. They are extending their love to the children who are already here instead of carrying on with the overpopulation that is putting our entire planet and lives in peril. 

This is a wonderful day in American History. My prayer is that it will only continue, and that the religious groups who are anti-gay marriage will spend more time healing the dramatic divorce rates in their own communities instead of focusing on refusing rights to human beings who only want to love, honor, and cherish the partner of their heart’s choice.

Congratulations to all those I know and do not know whose lives are made better by this California Supreme Court decision. May all of us who care take action to ensure that this latest decision is a step on the continued journey to freedom and equality for all Americans.

Here’s to LOVE!

julia

 

 

Published in: on May 17, 2008 at 12:33 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://juliabutterflyhill.wordpress.com/2008/05/17/celebrating-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. HEAR HEAR!
    good on you for your line on the religions doing something about divorce in stead of stopping love!

    and anyway marriage is so much more than love nowadays.

    peace and love to you from amsterdam!
    Ryan van Lil

  2. Congrats to all my friends for whom this means so much, and good luck in court on the seventeenth.

  3. hola julia eres una persona admirable

  4. Julia,

    Although you’ve probably heard it many times before, you truly are such an inspiration. Last year, I found a copy of “One Makes the Difference” at my local library. I read it twice, and then shared bits and pieces of it with every one I know.

    Since reading your book, I have become a vegan. My fiance is also now a vegan. We are both incredibly passionate about the issues our world faces today. I feel that I am more aware than ever, and it truly began when I read your book.

    I just wanted to say thank you for inspiring me to make the world a better place for all earthlings. You are a blessing.

    Deep peace,
    Megan

  5. hola julia, sigo entrando a tu blog a leerte y fue hermoso encontrar esta buena noticia. y compartir la alegría de estos despertares de conciencia que se van generando en el mundo. seguiremos viendo y compartiendo la alegría de los próximos y trabajando por ellos. ojalá la comunidad heterosexual logre disolver la ilusión de diferencia y puedan integrarse a nosotros, para que este nosotros sea más vasto y hermoso. el real que ya es. te abrazo y te envío mi amor. kiur

  6. (and trying in english)
    I keep on reading your blog and it was beautiful to find this good new. and to share the happiness of those awakening of the concient all around the world. we´ll keep on seeing and sharing them, and working for them. i hope the heterosexual community can disolve the ilussion of difference and to integrate us, to become the real one we are. the one we are beeing since always. i hug you and send you my love. kiur

  7. Hi Julia,

    I was wondering if you might be interested in doing an email interview with me for my blog. Please come and visit and let me know.

    Thanks much,

    Gena

  8. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

